Healthy Nuts, Healthy Crunching with Garden Picks

Sitting in front of the television set watching your favourite programs? Feeling bored and looking for something to munch? I know you must be itching to munch on something. I often feel that way especially mid way through the day, just after lunch and before dinner.

Potato chips no doubt are nice to munch on but they are just too fattening, oily and unhealthy. Some of my friends and colleagues hesitate to offer me unhealthy snacks as they know I am the health conscious one, I recommend them cassava chips instead.

I am thankful that recently I got acquainted with some healthy nuts and snacks from Garden Picks. They are my current love now.

1
From Left to Right:
Philippines Mango, Vegetable Chips Medley, Honey Mustard Soya Crisps, Crispy Lotus Seed, Dry-Roasted Green Soybean (Center) and Salted Caramel Peanut.

6Philippines Mango (Top Seller) – $3.80/100g
The Philippines variety mango is known as the king of mango because of its high quality taste profile and creamy taste texture. They are also believed to be an excellent source of Vitamins A & C.

Who doesn’t love the princess of fruits? I love mangoes so needless to say I love these. Pakistan and Thai mangoes taste great too, so they can consider that if they as their secondary source the next time they ran out of some Philippines mango. We have already cleared this pack of mangoes as I am typing this.

5
Vegetable Chips Medley -$3.80/50g
Crunchy, veggie! These chips are bursting with flavours from greens, and they are a delicious alternative to ordinary potato chips.

Perhaps, you can introduce your young children to start eating vegetables this way. I think it looks like yong tau fu without the fish paste. Now give me my dry noodles!

2
Honey Mustard Soya Crisps – $3.80/120g
Honey Mustard Soya Crisps (from Australia). The ultimate snack mix is crispy, sweet, and savory all at once. An irresistible snack loaded with honey mustard mix, and they are made from GM-Free and Australian-grown soya beans!

If I didn’t read the packaging I would have easily mistaken these as the Muruku snack that the locals love. I like the interesting flavours that burst out all at once when I chew on them. This snack is irresistible.

salted caramel
Salted Caramel Peanuts – $3.80/170g
Salted Caramel Peanut Peanuts are actually simple legumes (not nuts) which are rich in monounsaturated fats, the type of fat which is emphasized in heart-healthy diets. Coated with fragrant salted caramel, they make a great snack on-the-go or as and when you crave some small bites.

This reminds me very much of my sugar coated peanuts. I never enjoyed eating salted nuts and would go for the sugar coated ones but this version beats them hands down. Salty and sweet, I like the combination.

4
Green Soybeans (Edamame) – $3.80/220g
Green Soybeans are among the few plant-based foods that supply complete protein. They have long been a staple in Japanese cuisine. If you are too busy to cook, have some of these in snack form to get that protein boost!

The first time I had something close to these was during Chinese New Year. Somebody gave us a jar of those mixed dry beans with wolf berries and a mixture of dried vegetables. I like this because it is so fragrant and I feel healthier snacking on these healthy beans as compared to nuts and crackers.

3

Crispy Lotus Seeds (TOP SELLER) – $3.80/60g
Lotus seeds are valued for nutritional and healing properties in Chinese medicine, and are used in many recipes as well as herbal formulas. This crispy version makes a great snack anytime of the day!

This is my mum’s favourite. I like everything lotus, from lotus root soup, lotus crisp (the one we eat during Chinese New Year) and lotus seeds too. My mum would always save the seeds from the soup for me. Seems like we have another alternative now.

There is an on-going promotion now. Purchase any 3 packs of these snacks for $10. Feel free to purchase in bulk packs.

I think that these garden picks not only taste great, but offers you a healthier alternative to your usual snacks. The best thing is that you can go guilt-free after chomping down on them. Remember to drink loads of water after you snack on them thou.

For more details and information, do check out:
https://www.gardenpicks.com.sg
https://www.facebook.com/gardenpicks
https://www.instagram.com/gardenpicks

Disclaimer: This article is made possible because of Christine and Garden Picks. Thank you for sending the 6 packs of assorted snacks for my review and sharing.

Leave a Reply

